Jesus, Lord of the Divine Mercy Parish

Before its establishment on April 26, 1993, the Mapayapa community was part of the San Isidro Labrador Parish in Tandang Sora. In 1992, San Isidro Labrador Parish Priest. Fr. Albert Venus recommended the Divine Mercy to be separated as a new parish because of the increasing pastoral needs of the growing community which covered 13 subdivisions and a population of almost 20,000 Catholics. This was subsequently approved by the late Cardinal Sin.

Following standard procedure, the community first became the Chaplaincy of Our Lady of Peace on December 3, 1992. Fr. Danny Pajarillaga was assigned as the chaplain on December 11, 1993.

Due to some unforeseen problems, the Mapayapa I Chapel could not be used as the chaplaincy seat. The residents of Mapayapa Village III offered their makeshift Divine Mercy Chapel to be the temporary chaplaincy seat. The upcoming parish was dedicated to the chapel’s patron, Jesus, Lord of Divine Mercy.

In September 1994, the parish seat was transferred to Mapayapa I. Like the Mapayapa III chapel, the Our Lady of Peace Chapel needed improvements but before any could be done, the permanency status had to be resolved once again this time with Mapayapa I residents. On October 1996, a people-initiated exercise was conducted among the Mapayapa I residents to get a consensus on the permanency issue. The result was favorable to the parish.

In 1995, with Cardinal Sin as special guest, groundbreaking rites were held but construction was put on hold pending approval of the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) that would bind both parties to the use of the Chapel.

On June 30, 1999, the MOA was finally signed. By that time, Fr. Danny had been assigned to a new parish and replaced by Fr. Amado “Bong” Gino. Reconstruction of the Chapel began on December 1999 and a beautiful Church stood in its place after barely a year.

Fr. Antonio E. Labiao, Jr., an incardinated priest of Manila from the Diocese of Kidapawan, was installed on December 21, 2002 as the third parish priest. Fr. Tony implemented a new way of being Church through the Basic Ecclesial Communities (BEC). Fr. Tony was succeeded by Fr. Ambrosio Nonato C. Legaspi who took a pastoral leave on December 2012. Fr. Joseph M. Buslon became the Parish Priest on January 21, 2013.

The parish is composed of 25,000 parishioners and covers fifteen villages and areas consisting largely of private residences and a sprinkling of business establishments. Within the Parish territory are two religious institutions: the OMI Retreat House and the Formation House of the Franciscan Sisters of St. Elizabeth.

The 15 villages or areas that fall within the parish territorial boundaries are Mapayapa Village I, II, III, Silverland, CBE Town, Hobart, Petrona, FERN, Ferndale, Pingkian, NAWASSA, Veterans, Magre, Ramax, and Metrogate.

Quick Facts

Vicariate: Holy Spirit
Parish Priest: Rev. Fr. Roland P. Jaluag
Preceding Pastor/s: Rev. Fr. Ambrosio Nonato C. Legaspi, Rev. Fr. Joseph M. Buslon
Date Established:  April 26, 1993
Feast Day: 2nd Sunday after Easter

Contact Details

Address: Caimito St., Mapayapa Village 1, Pasong Tamo 1107 Q.C.
Contact Number: 931.4719 (telefax)

Exact Location